2024, You’re No 1988

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

It’s notable this week that President Biden and former President Donald Trump have agreed to something: two debates – on  June 27, hosted at CNN studios in Atlanta and Sept. 10 by ABC News, at an as-yet-to-be-determined location. A vice presidential debate will supposedly be held sometime in July. These debates will not feature a live audience and are deliberately intended to circumvent the traditional Commission on Presidential Debates format in place since 1988.

I recall the 1988 presidential contest between then Vice President Bush and Massachusetts Governor Michael Dukakis vividly because that campaign turned me into a political junkie. And debates played a big role. Although quite tame by today’s standards, the campaign was full of all types of negative advertising, like the infamous Willie Horton ad. Everyone, too, remembered, the vice presidential debate where the grey-haired, statesman-like Lloyd Bentsen turned to an incredibly youthful-looking Dan Quayle and scolded him by saying “Senator, you’re no Jack Kennedy.”

As context, I certainly have my ideology but it’s the strategy and maneuvering of politics that interests me. I’ve never been much of a sports fan, so politics serves as my sport. Plus, I’ve been in Communications throughout my entire career and love geeking out on debates. Sure, there’s the body language and messaging. But beyond that, I just love the tradition of the fall scheduled debates – footage of the candidates arriving in the city and the stentorian-voiced moderator saying, at the debate’s start “Everybody, please hold your applause. Except for now,” before calling out the candidates.

But, as a political junkie and Communications professional, it’s also clear to me that how we’ve done debates is no longer working. For starters, the way we consume media has changed entirely. People can learn all about the candidates any time they want to; they’re pretty much in your face all the time, everywhere you look. Further, given the rise of early voting, it doesn’t make sense waiting for the fall to debate.

Yet with all that said, I do believe these media advances and their impact on our politics have come at a cost. For starters, it’s now so easy for us to consume information inside our little bubble and I’m just as guilty of it as anyone. Also, our bitterly divided country has made it so that our minds are basically up, with each side really only wanting to give their base more red meat. Then there’s the lack of civility. Wow don’t even get me started.

It’s hard because as I’ve gotten older, I try hard to not fall into the trap of assuming the way we used to do things was inherently better and, conversely, the new way can’t be much good. I do hope we look back and believe this new debate format is a positive development. Because we can all agree our political system sure could use one.

Vice-Presidential candidates Sen. Lloyd Bentsen (left) and Sen. Dan Quayle during their 1988 debate Image credit: Steve Liss/Time Life Pictures/Getty Images

Leave a comment