A Post To Go With Them

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

It’s a beautiful early summer day here in the Twin Cities where I live and I just returned from taking our dog for a walk. Sure, this being Minnesota, lousy weather is right around the corner, in time for Father’s Day. Yet at this moment in time, it’s just about perfect.

Ordinarily I’d never start a post like this because of my dreaded fear of the jinx – my sense that the other proverbial shoe is set to drop. Yet with this post I’m taking a different approach. I want to specifically document how fleeting it all is, how temporal. If you’re reading this post, please pause now and literally take a few seconds to appreciate what you have, savior it. Because it never lasts.

Two people in my sphere are facing challenges and they’re very much on my mind. Neither live in the Twin Cities so I’m not in a position to see them and truthfully, I’m not sure either of them want to be seen right now. Yet I want to do my part, leverage whatever I have at my disposal, what I feel is best, to help them. So I’m writing this post.

We’re of course all familiar with the terms “thoughts and prayers” and in some instances the phrase has been viewed, culturally, in terms of its limitations – like we need to go beyond thoughts and prayers and take action. I, however, take people at their word. When people we know face a challenge, it’s in our collective nature to want to help. As corny as it might sound, people truly are good when called upon.

But  the term “thoughts and prayers” just doesn’t seem right for me; for whatever reason, it just isn’t in my wheelhouse. I’d like to think of this post as something that can go along with those thoughts and prayers.

I acknowledge that it’s not directed at the two people in my sphere who are facing challenges. It’s directed at you, reading this, with the hope it will inspire you to carry a little more empathy into your day. I believe that’s what we’re all after with thoughts and prayers, anyway. And that, somewhere, somehow, it ultimately will help.

Helping Hand

Image credit: The Quintessential Leader

 

2 thoughts on “A Post To Go With Them

  1. Thanks Andy, from one of those “other ones”. Many more of us have empathy for our fellows than have the vulnerability and the know how to share it. ⁷

Leave a comment