What I Saw Last Night – Round One

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

The 2020 presidential campaign launched in earnest last night with the first of two Democratic debates, featuring 10 contenders. Here’s a completely unfair, mostly serious look at what I saw, from left to right, in the order I saw them.

Bill de Blasio – Mayor of New York
He’s really tall. Beyond that, nothing about him stood out.

Tim Ryan – Ohio Congressman
Solid performer who seems to genuinely care about “bread and butter” issues. File him away as a possible VP pick.

Julian Castro – Former Mayor of San Antonio and HUD Secretary
In a different field in a different year, could really make some headway. But I keep thinking he’s a character from Scandal. 

Cory Booker – New Jersey Senator
My sense is that Sen. Booker is feeling confident this morning, like he may have grabbed the momentum that’s been alluding him. Like many, I’m curious why he hasn’t gained more traction.

Elizabeth Warren – Massachusetts Senator
I believe Sen. Warren was the evening’s true winner. Tough, calm, informed and policy-oriented. Then again, you could have said the same thing in 2016 about Hilary Clinton.

Beto O’Rourke – Former Texas Congressman
Very underwhelmed. He seemed fidgety in the opening minutes and his Spanish gambit bugged me. As they say in his neck of the woods, my sense is he’s all hat and no cattle.

Amy Klobuchar – Minnesota Senator
Senator Klobuchar seemed shaky in her delivery, almost nervous, but made up for it with what I thought was an outstanding closing statement.

Tulsi Gabbard – Hawaii Congresswoman
Like Mayor de Blasio, I wasn’t really sure what she was doing up there.

Jay Inslee – Washington Governor
Gov. Inslee reminded me of  a detective in some Law & Order spin-off. I kept waiting for him to roll up his shirtsleeves and start interrogating his fellow rivals.

John Delaney – Businessman and former Maryland Congressman
Unfortunately he made no impression on me at all. It’s like when you’re looking at a photo from a party and you see yourself standing next to someone that you truly don’t believe was really there.

On to Round Two.

Debate Round One

Image credit: NBC News

 

4 thoughts on “What I Saw Last Night – Round One

  1. Nice assessment, Andy. Booker seemed a little unnecessarily angry and the Spanish did not help. Warren was calmer and more rational than expected, but your assessment as this election’s Hilary is accurate. De Blasio needs to stop talking about his NYC experience – that doesn’t play in Wisconsin and that was a problem in the last election and, based on the rallying of the base that’s already going on, will be again. We didn’t know what to think about Ryan.

  2. Good stuff An dy. My 2¢ (not that you asked for it…)
    De Blasio: Ok, but he seemed like a bully
    Ryan: Didn’t catch my interest
    Castro: Definitely increased his chances
    Booker: Solid, even though his furrowed brow made him look angry and Spanish: see O ‘Rourke
    Warren: Fine, I guess. Reminds me of Hillary, only more engaging, which maybe is good.
    O’ Rourke: Seemed weak? Speaking Spanish will help him with one voting segment, but turn away the segment that got Trump elected.
    Klobuchar: A few good zingers. Solid performance, but perhaps too calm. Talked realistically, which I think the base will not like.
    Gabbard: Good messaging with war policy, but otherwise seemed to flounder.
    Inslee: Meh. Nothing grabbed me.
    Delaney: Too much yelping for attention. But generally liked his comments.

    • Good assessment, Brian. Thanks for reading. What honestly interests me the most coming out of it is if Booker and/or Castro will get any discernible poll jump from their performance.

Leave a comment