No One Is Untouchable

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

There’s this classic scene in the 1987 Brian De Palma movie The Untouchables where Al Capone, as portrayed by Robert De Niro, is addressing a meeting of his top lieutenants. Wielding a baseball bat, he notes how a man needs to have enthusiasms and his is baseball. He segues into a lecture about teamwork and while talking, walks menacingly around the large round table. Finally, he zeroes in on the disloyal lieutenant and, if you haven’t seen the movie, you can probably guess what happens yet.

I haven’t thought of The Untouchables in years but it’s been on my brain lately when I consider the 2020 Democratic presidential primary, especially former Vice President Joe Biden. Now, I’m of course not envisioning Al Capone-style justice for Uncle Joe. But I am wondering if the voters might just, metaphorically-speaking, do it. As we all know; especially when it comes to politics, no one is untouchable.

I’ve never been much for the term “sentimental favorite” but Joe Biden would be mine. Despite being a politician’s politician, I find him unbelievably sincere. I have every confidence that he could walk into the Oval Office right now and be an effective president. But that doesn’t mean I’m enthusiastic about him. And something tells me I’m far from alone.

Recently family friends of ours attended the annual Wing Ding event in Clear Lake, Iowa, where 22 candidates were given five minutes each to make a presentation. According to them Vice President Biden, in person, was very unimpressive. They claimed that he spoke haltingly, wasn’t close enough to the microphone, and perhaps most ominously, looked old.

This insight was then reinforced by a New York Times article I read earlier this week, simply titled “Joe Biden’s Poll Numbers Mask an Enthusiasm Challenge.” Plus, Biden’s wife, Dr. Jill Biden, also this week tried making the “most electable” argument, stating, “You may like another candidate better, but you have to look at who is going to win.” This too gave me pause. President Obama used to famously refer to his wife Michelle as his “closer.” Knowing how much Vice President Biden emulates his former boss, it’s disconcerting he’s using his own closer so early in the game.

And speaking of early in the game; I know that the presidential race will go through countless permutations between now and Election Day. But right now, I’m concerned and I needed to take the time to document the reasons why. It’s my hope that if you’re reading this post you might either share my concerns or even have a “Hmm” moment that will impact how you evaluate the candidates moving forward.

I just keep going back to 2016. Trust me, I know it’s hard but try to take away Hilary’s emails, the Mueller report and Russian meddling. In the end the Democrats had a smart, tough, qualified, experienced and prepared candidate. They just couldn’t get enthusiastic about her.

Sound familiar?

The Untouchables

Robert De Niro as Al Capone in The Untouchables Image credit: Imgur

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “No One Is Untouchable

  1. Unfortunately, this does sound familiar. I like Joe Biden. I imagine he has the political savvy to make a good President within days of being briefed into the office. Certainly he would have a hard time doing a worse job than the current POTUS. He is far and away a better, smarter person than the man who was attacked in the first 2 Democrat debates. However, he does not call forth enthusiasm from anywhere near enough of us.

    Maybe it is time for a change in Democrat voter thinking. I seriously believe that we need part of the Democrat ticket to be female, part black or Hispanic and certainly one or both being age 65 or younger; maybe a good bit younger, say 35-55. Why? Certainly not because I am against old white guys. I will be 70 in a couple of months. It is mostly that we need relative youth, for energy and enthusiasm, and a diversity of life experiences in who we take to election day. Age is no guarantee of wisdom or effectiveness, just as age, gender, sexual orientation and racial background are no guarantee that an individual will have what it takes to be the right woman or man for the job. Should we start looking for the qualities we want the Democrat team to demonstrate? I would include bravery, integrity, commitment, energy, intelligence and sensitivity to one’s fellow humans? Oh yes, and at least some understanding of our Constitution, legal system and ethics might be useful.

    • Ed, thanks for reading and I’d imagine you’re certainly not alone in your opinion. As I read your comment I can’t help but think of Mayor Pete and wonder, after that initial burst of great press he received a few months back, if he’ll be a factor in the race. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Leave a comment