Finding Out What It Means to Me

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

It happens all the time. One of our kids will be complaining about being paired with a certain classmate to work together on a project and they either don’t like them outright or feel as though they don’t click with them. So I go to my work analogy, which both our son Ethan and daughter Sasha know by heart – to the point where they greet it with eye rolling. But that doesn’t deter me from reminding them that their whole professional world will consist of countless people who you might not become friends with but need to find ways to work together. And in some cases, come to greatly respect, regardless of whether they become your friend.

A former colleague of mine who fits this bill is very much on my brain. For the past few years, he’s literally been in the fight of his life after being diagnosed with a rare, aggressive cancer. Recently he and his family have learned there are no further treatment options to pursue and they’re facing the uncertain future with more courage, dignity and true grace than any of you can imagine.

I’m not going to use my colleague’s name. Many of you reading this post likely know him. Many of you don’t and it won’t matter. What I want to use this figurative space for is to remind you how important it is to respect our professional peers. I know, I know. It’s not business. It’s personal. But it’s personal as well. And we both know it.

This particular colleague and I last worked together at an advertising agency nearly 10 years ago. We were a few years apart in age and at similar life stations. But we never really became friends outside of work. I never tried and he never tried. That’s just how it was.

For most of our time together we didn’t work on the same clients but when we did, I was beyond impressed with his leadership and client service skills. I believe the hardest part of any job is dealing with difficult people, especially when they’re clients. And I watched him navigate these relationships in a way that kept his integrity, his team’s morale and, most importantly, the business, intact.

This former colleague of mine left the agency  a year or so after me and has remained active on social media, so,like many instances today, I feel as though he’s been more a part of my life even if I haven’t regularly physically seen him.  And it’s during these intervening years that my respect for him has grown exponentially.

This former colleague has different political and social views than me and over the years hasn’t been afraid to express them, which is rare given our tense, hyper-sensitive environment. Even rarer and more impressive is how he expresses them clearly  and politely, without attacking the other side. Man, do I wish more people would learn how to follow his lead.

Then there’s his faith. From back when when we worked together through his most recent social media posts, it’s been clear to me that religion has been a guiding force in his life. I can tell that it’s been a source of strength all this time, especially now and one I’ve always admired from a far.

It’s an admiration rooted in respect. And one that will continue unabated.

Respect

Image credit: Getty

Leave a comment