Matter by Doing

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

“Actions, not words.” We’ve all heard the expression countless times, starting when we were very young. And I imagine that if you’re reading this post, the expression has lost its meaning. Sure, we know what it means. It’s just that it’s been used and overused to the point where it just becomes part of the background.

But the thing is, there’s a reason why the expression “actions, not words” has endured for so long. Because, in the end, I believe that most of us are remembered by what we do, not what we say.

One year ago today a former colleague of mine passed away after a very brief, but aggressive battle with cancer. I won’t use their name; you might know who I’m talking about; you might not. It doesn’t really matter. What matters is what they did.

For starters, this person’s job revolved around getting things done. Efficient to a fault, here goes another over-used term, no job was too large or too small. No matter the deadline, no matter the circumstances, this person always delivered. And they didn’t just deliver what the person wanted but they did it with a level of service and attention to detail that was second to none.

Like many I’ve found who are really good at what they do, this person didn’t possess a proverbial “off” switch. They treated people the same whether the interaction was personal or professional. And by the “same,” I mean with the upmost respect and decency.

I recall one time, the year before this colleague passed away, them coming to my desk with two small bags. Each contained Hanukkah presents for both of our kids. I honestly couldn’t believe it. I mean, I barely knew it was Hanukkah. Yet they remembered. Because that’s the kind of person they were.

Several months later I was scheduled to give a presentation in front of a large group. I was prepared but nervous and this colleague was one of the people who were willing to serve as a practice audience for me. They gave me plenty of helpful input but what made a difference is two simple gestures they did on the day of the presentation.

When it was my turn to present, I walked up to the podium and looked up before I started. The first person I saw was this colleague, sitting there smiling back at me. And when I sat back down again after presenting, my phone buzzed in my pocket. It was a text from my colleague congratulating me on a job well done.

I made sure to thank this colleague, for the help, and support. So they knew all that they meant to me. So they knew that what they did truly mattered.

Image note: A colleague reminded me that sunflowers were this person’s favorite. 

Sunflower

Image credit: Pixabay

 

 

2 thoughts on “Matter by Doing

  1. a truly magical soul she was. the world was so lucky to have her, and those of us privileged by her impact will never forget who she was or how she made us feel. -CK

Leave a comment