Taylor Made

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

My wife Wendy and I had a conversation with our kids the other night at dinner about generations. In particular, we were discussing how certain generations, namely Boomers and Millennials, get the lion’s share of attention. And then there’s the generation that Wendy and I belong to – Generation X, which gets practically none.

The thing about being part of Generation X which I find particularly interesting is we’re simultaneously everywhere – leading businesses and contributing to the economy, raising children, caring for our parents, but simultaneously nowhere. For example, outside of Justin Trudeau I’m struggling to think of another GenX country leader.

But I believe someone from the arts world has been slowly and steadily emerging as a “spokesperson of our generation” – 46-year-old singer Corey Taylor, front man for the metal band Slipknot and the more melodic Stone Sour. Taylor is also a published author, does spoken word performances and will soon be releasing a solo album. But I imagine he, for the most part, remains largely unknown. He’s been everywhere and nowhere. And my sense is that’s exactly the way he likes it.

Now, I am far from what you’d consider a “maggot” – what Slipknot fondly refers to legions of their loyal fans. I’ve never seen them live, although I hope to at some point in the future. Except for perhaps “Snuff, I couldn’t try to sing any of their songs. But, and even if this sounds hokey I really don’t care – listening to Slipknot makes me feel a certain way, particularly if and when I’m angry. It’s not so much that the music helps me wallow in my anger; it’s more as if it allows me to own it, embrace it.

I’ve heard various interviews with Corey Taylor and have always found him quite interesting. He, to put it mildly, had a trouble childhood growing up in Iowa, living in homes that he referred to as looking like they belonged on a Black Sabbath album cover. Taylor speaks openly of his struggles with mental illness yet does it in a way that I believe is very befitting of our generation. He acknowledges, empathizes and moves on, not casting blame or seeking sympathy.

There are plenty of times when we (and what I’m really trying to say is me) are able to direct our sadness, anger or disappointment at a single source – a person, idea or, in some cases, event. But other times we feel this anger that goes deep and is source-less. It doesn’t have a face but it’s there right in yours. I believe that Corey Taylor understands that and internalizes it in his varied body of work.

I had a chance to sample some of that work yesterday evening as I listened to Spotify’s new “This Is Corey Taylor” playlist that features his work with Slipknot, Stone Sour, various side projects, plus some great covers, including Chris Isaak’s “Wicked Game” and Dio’s “Rainbow in the Dark.” The playlist featured Taylor singing but also whispering and growling. And regardless of how it was delivered, I always seemed to appreciate and value what he had to say.

Corey Taylor

Image credit: Roadrunner Records

 

 

 

Leave a comment