Exploring Supreme

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

As I’ve referred to in previous posts, I regularly embrace rabbit holes – the notion of digging in deep on typically an author or musician to see where the journey takes me. Recently one of my rabbit hole journeys helped me face one of the most perplexing questions of all: “Is there a G-d?”

A few weeks back, leading up to our daughter Sasha’s Bat Mitzvah, I began going down a John McLaughlin rabbit hole, listening to his solo work, the Jazz fusion band Mahavishnu Orchestra that the British guitarist led during the 1970’s and especially Love Devotion Surrender, his 1973 collaboration with Carlos Santana and a tribute to the saxophonist John Coltrane. As part of my rabbit hole journey, I listened to a podcast interview with McLaughlin where he discussed listening to Coltrane’s signature 1964 album A Love Supreme for days and weeks on end to fully embrace it.

The McLaughlin interview struck me as I vividly recalled an NPR segment several years back honoring the 50th anniversary of A Love Supreme. During the segment bassist and composer Christian McBride recalled being a high school student in Philadelphia when the record was released.  Visiting a local record store, he asked the clerk if he should buy it. The clerk replied that he might not be ready for it, which of course made McBride want it more.

Clearly there was something about A Love Supreme. I own the album on CD and have listened to it on Spotify but it had been awhile. So I put it on. I can tell you that A Love Supreme doesn’t sound like dated background music, or old-timey, in the way certain Jazz music does.  And it doesn’t appear discordant and experimental, either.  It sounds like the kind of music that makes you stop what you’re doing and listen for a minute. Which is the point of all music, regardless of genre.

People view A Love Supreme as John Coltrane’s paean to spirituality.  His life was filled with many demons and much seeking; the album was Coltrane’s way of acknowledging he finally located the driving force of his life and turned himself over to this higher power. John Coltrane died of liver cancer two years after the release of A Love Supreme, at the age of 40.

Eventually, the John McLaughlin rabbit hole morphed into a full-on Santana rabbit hole so I kept continuing on this vaguely spiritual music journey. Then, the other day, I was having a conversation with someone I’m close with who surprised me by stating they didn’t believe in G-d until recently, when they were faced with a particularly difficult challenge. The conversation was shocking in that it was so out-of-the-blue and made me consider my own views towards G-d, and spirituality in general, which I rarely do.

Upon reflection, I realized that I take a “shit happens and it’s up to us to skew the odds” approach to life. As corny as it sounds, I treat people with respect and aim to do the right thing so I’ll get those actions in return, knowing full well that’s not always the case. I jog, eat steel cut oats and turkey wraps so I can really enjoy sitting on the couch watching Netflix, as well as eating cheeseburgers and drinking beer. And as to that ever present “How could G-d allow?” question – all the poverty, corruption, illness, injury, tragedy – how could that occur on G-d’s watch? My answer would be another question – “Well, how couldn’t G-d?”

Bringing it all back to John McLaughlin, John Coltrane and Carlos Santana, I truly believe there is a higher power – something way bigger than all of us, something supreme, that guides everything. And by “everything,” I mean everything – all the wonderful and miserable things that collectively happen to all of us. I respect and commend those artists for creating work that praises the notion of “supreme,” try to understand it a bit, but they’re never going to crack the code and they know that. That’s not really the point.

Basically, I believe that spirituality – whatever form you choose to practice it, is a never-ending journey down a series of rabbit holes. I for sure am going to keep on my journey. And I have every confidence I’m being guided. By who or what I have no idea and I truly could care less. Just having the guide is enough for me.

Carlos Santana and John McLaughlin

Leave a comment