When Black Friday Comes

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

I never have enjoyed shopping.  As my long-suffering wife Wendy will attest, I wear clothes until they are near disintegration and then let new pants hang in my closet unused because I don’t want to deal with  having them altered.  But this doesn’t mean I’m immune to materialism.  In fact, having children, I feel it is more a part of my life than ever before. So Wendy and I find ourselves faced with a familiar First World quandary:  We work very hard so our children want for nothing.  Yet we strive to ensure Ethan and Sasha understand the difference between wants and needs.  And that we in turn lead by example.

Yet during the past few years, on Black Friday, we’ll find ourselves, along with almost everyone else, shopping. We justify it with a “if you can’t beat ’em join ’em” attitude but no matter how you cut it the day in one form or another ends up being about things. But I don’t want to lose sight of the fact that it’s more importantly about the people who you hunt for things with.

Growing up in Connecticut my brother Jonathan and I would spend every Black Friday together. We’d have a leisurely lunch at Friendly’s and then hit up the Crystal Mall, about 40 minutes north of my parent’s house on Interstate 95.  But we were passing time; not in pursuit of a bargain. Knowing my shopping tastes, I’m sure I might have returned from our trips with a CD or book. But I don’t remember any one thing I purchased; just the camaraderie.

At the start of last night’s Thanksgiving dinner, our family went around the table and individually detailed the reasons why we were thankful.  Not once did anyone mention something tangible – that you can touch, watch or wear.

One added bonus to Black Friday is that it gets me thinking about the awesome Steely Dan song, especially this verse:

When Black Friday comes
I’m gonna dig myself a hole
Gonna lay down in it ’til
I satisfy my soul

Satisfying one’s soul. I really like that. Especially if you can do it with people, not just things.

Photo credit: Danny Clinch

Leave a comment