Tethers

Editorial note: Opinions expressed here are solely those of the blogger

Today is Yom Kippur, the holiest day of the year for Jews and a time for atonement and repentance. But right now I have two interrelated thoughts on the brain: how hungry I am and how badly I want a cup of coffee. As many of you likely are aware, many Jews choose to fast on Yom Kippur, only for the day, so hunger comes with the territory. Yet I’m never quite prepared for the headaches that I get from complete caffeine withdrawal.

Our family went to services this morning and I did something I almost never do – I left my phone at home. After all, the four of us were together and this was supposed to be a day of reflection. Not checking in to see what I was happening at work, on social media sites or any of the myrid distractions our phone contains.

So I sat at services, trying to concentrate on what was being said. And I did, for the most part. Yet my mind kept drifting back to my phone, lying on our kitchen counter, charging. Undoubtedly full of content for me. The phone just happenend to be right by our Keurig coffee maker. Which I use each and every morning (and afternoon) to make that dark, bitter but oh-so-satisfying elixir.

As I sat there in temple, masked, self-conscious about my fogging glasses, I considered the notion of tethers in our lives. At that moment coffee and my phone, even though neither were present, still served as tetheres – metaphorically attached to me and not wanting to let go. I actually wanted to feel lightened, empowered, by going without them. Yet that just wasn’t the case.

What I’ve always enjoyed about Yom Kippur is it’s this special day that, no matter, when it falls, seems special, unique. But then at sundown you gather for breakfast and life goes on. As it will this year.

Realistically, my life moving forward is going to include plenty of time with my phone and coffee. The main difference is that I am now aware that both are tethers and may restrict me more than I’m willing to admit. And I need to be careful.

If you’ve read along this far, my sense is that you may have tethers in your own life. Sure, coffee and phones are far from unique but there are plenty of others. Ask yourself what it would feel like to go without them; maybe even give it a try. I bet you’d see those tethers in a whole new light.

Image credit: Sigmund, Unsplash

Leave a comment